Aside

Go ahead, Josie. Make my day.

Did you ever skip a rite of passage as a kid only to wish you could do it as an adult?

I never had a slumber party as a kid. I went to more than I can count – and generally really liked them. I was a gold-plated, grade A, first class giggler. Slumber parties were the place where giggling didn’t earn black looks from The Grownups. They probably drove host parents to a big bottle of Advil, but at a slumber party? Giggling could well up in a mushroom cloud of noise and no one shushed you. Laughter was much, much better than the occasional pajama party  crying jag, which I probably giggled at, too.

These guys REALLY smack each other. I’d opt for a kinder, gentler impact. But I would love to have a pillow fight – with my girlfriends, a la fifth grade.

I really wanted to have a slumber party on my 12th birthday, but my sister had one not long before that, and not only did my dad’s favorite chair flip over backwards (and eject poor Betsy Ramen into the stereo console) but it might have strained my mother’s nerves.

Now, I never felt robbed or upset about not having a slumber party. But as an adult, I find myself suggesting them to my friends. They usually think it sounds like fun, but we never even pencil them in. Something about the thought of gathering with friends in pajamas to gorge on junk food, swap gossip and boards games (or marco polo!) is appealing. Silly, yes, but appealing. I’ve even daydreamed about a massive pillow fight. What a great release that would be. Stressed? Whack Ellen upside the head with a pillow. Mad at your significant other? Clothesline Josie at the knees. Happy to have all your besties together? Celebrate them all with a whirling dervish pillow punt to the gut.

The more I think about it, the more I like it. Now, where are those invitations?

Leave a Reply

Raising Faith {dot NET}

where Unitarian Universalism meets Christianity meets Put the baby Jesus down RIGHT. NOW. {Jordinn Nelson Long and friends on faith & family life}

Snoring Dog Studio

Original Painting and Illustration and Comments on Life's Oddities

[ par·al·lel·e·vi·sion ]

Making the things on the inside of my head be on the outside of my head.

The Playground

Cynical and Sassy. Sarcastic and Satirical. Stuff and Such.

Blogizing

Social Blogging

North Texas Narratives

Quick Reads on Quick Encounters in the Metroplex

The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Bridges Traveled

Stories & Images by Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Jaunting Jen

A Blog About History and Nature

Pete Armetta

Flash Fiction, Poetry, Short Stories and Essays

Coffee With God

coffee--the sacred bean for the sacred substance

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thoughtful Pastor

where faith & pop culture meet. expect turbulence

The 25-Year Plan

An award-winning journalist goes back to college

Lame Adventures

A Humor Blog

Damn You Auto Correct!

Funny iPhone Fails and Autocorrect Horror Stories

where faith & pop culture meet. expect turbulence

